Radiant Spirit of A Marginalized Children

27 09 2009

Sitting in the twilight, seeing people in the town square that once was an execution place for criminal during Dutch colonial.

The Governor Office that now became the museum, standing gracefully while  boys and girls ridding the bike they rent, families chatting laughing. Kids running around chasing each other and street performers taking time resting in between their performance.

Have enough taking promenade in the square and street food always been a main attraction for me. And of course satay padang is what aiming after few months away from the country.

Enjoying satay padang in street food stall, and I made it! The satay taste just fine, enough to fulfill my craving of this particular Indonesian food.

Just next to the stall there was this little girl selling cold drinks. Bought a bottle of mineral water in which not so cold anymore but can’t complaint of that as I like it just like it is. Surely taste just like any of it in anywhere and the conversation with this little girl what makes it special.

Served the customer very well, helpful to other food vendors and, manage the cash flow very well for 11 years old.

As I was waiting for the satay, I started to munch the sugar floss I bought earlier. I offer her the rest of the pack but she refused. I thought, well, its normal if she refused food from stranger.

I tried for second attempt. No luck. She said: « I’d loved to take one if I like, but the thing is I don’t like sugar floss. »

In my mind, I was questioning, was that an excuse or she really don’t like sugar floss. But its sugar floss, its simply irresistible for some kids?

I came to a conclusion as we involved in an in-depth conversation about her school with her mother too, who sell some food few meters away from her. Short story short, she not like any other girls. She determined to get a good grade at school so she can go to public school, not private school as she possibly get into if she don’t get the grade she wants and told so.

And for her, she don’t want to burden her education admission to her parents. « Public school is cheaper than a private school, and if I don’t want my parents burden with it. But if I have to go to private school it means I have to go to the private school back in the village. And I don’t want it. I want to be here, in Jakarta with my parents, school here and help them to sell the cold drinks after school. »

A persistent and determination I saw from her. A strong will to keep continue her study. I wish every children in Indonesia have this kind of spirit.

Its few months away before she graduate to junior high school. And I could only pray she could make her dreams come true and I know she can from the spirit she shared to me.

Putri, that’s her name. Once again, the spirit of the marginal people amazed me, their spirit is way beyond the margin that society draw for them. Not only once, but this is the second time people like Putri gave me a great insight to appreciate life more and to the fullest.

I could only wish Putri the best in life and I’m sure God’s watching over her struggle.

Actions

Information

One response

28 09 2009
karina strong

a very strong and inspiring little girl..

Laisser un commentaire

